Cade Cunningham a Finalist for Wayman Tisdale Award

Originally published at:

Another day, another honor. One day after Cade Cunningham became Oklahoma State’s first ever AP All-American First-Teamer, the Cowboys’ rookie phenom was tabbed as a finalist for the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award, presented by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. Cade joins Michigan’s Hunter Dickinson, USC’s Evan Mobley and Gonzaga’s Jalen Suggs as the four finalists. All four were named USWBA All-Americans, also on Wednesday, but Cade was the only freshman on the First Team. Dickinson, Mobley and Suggs were second-teamers, which should further bolster Cunningham’s case. Here’s his case. Cunningham is the second-leading scorer in the nation among freshmen at 20.2 points per game and was only the fourth player to ever win both the Big 12 Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year after taking home nine conference Player of the Week awards. He was also named the Sporting News Freshman of the Year. Former OSU guard Marcus Smart won the Tisdale Award in 2012-13. The winner will be announced next Tuesday, March 23. Here’s a full list of the full USBWA All-Americans. First TeamJared Butler, F, Baylor, Jr.Cade Cunningham, G, Oklahoma State, Fr.Ayo Dosunmu, G, Illionis, Jr.Luka Garza, C, Iowa, Sr.Corey Kispert, F,…

Should be a shoe in.

Just sucks that he’s going to win an award named after a Goon.