Reader Thoughts: OSU Actually Has an OSU Problem

Originally published at: https://pistolsfiringblog.com/reader-thoughts-osu-actually-has-an-osu-problem/

We’ll explain …

1 Like

Hi Kyle, first-time poster and thanks for the blog.

You may already have heard from others on this, but the long-time Nebraska coach that preceded Tom Osborne was Bob Devaney, not Delaney.

Keep up the good work!

Just don’t think you get there never beating OU or winning conference titles.

1 Like

Kinda bolsters the author’s point nobody remembers him!

2 Likes

INCREDIBLY GOOD EMAIL. SPOT. ON.
I HAVE NEVER USED ALL CAPS ON A COMMENT BEFORE, BUT THIS JUSTIFIES AN EXCEPTION. IF THERE WAS A PFB HALL OF FAME, THIS EMAIL SHOULD BE INCLUDED. :smile:

10 Likes

I agree but the thing is once we start beating OU then we are basically there. I mean as long as we take care of other games like we should, beating OU means going to the CCG. Get in enough of those and win enough of those and you will get in some playoffs just because the Big 12 champ won’t be left out that often. Thus the way I see it is that beating a good OU (ie does not count if OU all of a sudden becomes Nebraska level play) is the last hurdle.

1 Like

Fixed, thank you!

If you watch all the broadcastl sports programs, you rarely see more than the minimum mention of OSU. Hubbard’s performance has increased the recognition a little but not as much as if he were at an OU or Alabama or Ohio St. We just don’t get the recognition of the top teams (even the bad ones that have worse records than OSU.) Sort of a “Tx is back” syndrome that we have heard every year for what seems like forever even tho every year they don’t “make it back.” Notre Dame is the classic example. The start out rated almost every year no matter how the previous season went.

1 Like