Ticket Pricing Inquiry and Response

Hey y’all, I am very unaware of what the ticket pricing structure is, and have been wondering why ticket prices are the way they are, for basketball games specifically. So, I went ahead and emailed Payton Phillips in the athletic department! Below is my email, and his response…

"Hi Payton, my name is Ian Webster. I am emailing you in hopes of getting some clarity on why ticket prices are the way they are, for OSU basketball games specifically.

To give some background, I graduated from OSU in the fall of 2004. I am originally from Tulsa, went to Jenks.

I don’t get back to Oklahoma very often, other than to visit my mother, but lately I’ve been wanting to go back to Stillwater, specifically, to watch some of the bball games (my preferred sport). However, it’s hard to justify doing so with ticket prices, especially in the 200 level, being the way they are.

The prices I have seen are $25 being the lowest, to $175 for center court seats in the 200 level (I haven’t see how much courtside ones are, which is irrelevant anyway).

For comparison’s sake, my wife and I live in Memphis. She is a Memphis grad and we occasionally go to some Tigers bball games. Their prices can go from $7-12 in the upper bowl of FedEx Forum, to $45-55 in the lower bowl if they’re available (this season, they sold a bunch of season tickets, so getting tickets in the lower bowl is really difficult unless you go the StubHub route). The upper bowl of GIA is getting really close to the lower one of FedEx Forum, an NBA-level arena, in terms of ticket prices!